TOTAL Newbie - Which screed should I go for.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrianwingate

Hi all

I am building an extension in my house (Single story 34sq meters). It is going to be a kitchen diner and living room area. I live in Stanmore (NW London).

I want to have underfloor heating installed (wet system).

I have no idea what type of screeding to go for. My initial gut instincts was to go for a liquid screed as it would be guaranteed to be 100% level. After a small amount of research I now have doubts whether it is the right move. Apart from being rather expensive for liquid screeding with the problem regarding laitance and no doubt other problems that I've no idea about. No doubt there are advantages and disadvantages to both ways.

Can anyone advise me as to which direction I should be going in. All advice would be really appreciated. If there are any additional questions to help you get to an answer please don't hesitate to ask.

Adrian

Are you not using a builder ? Seems sand and cement screed would be ideal , for a small floor like that , not sure about access on the build :confused: but would go ready mixed s & c with fibres and a 24 hr retarder . Once you have had the floor layed , wait 48hrs wet the floor and cover with a plastic sheet leave for a week and you will have a top floor surface .

Last edited:
When you get into all the technical crap to do with screeds they say that the liquid ones are more efficient for underfloor heating. With less air pockets in than a traditional screed and able to go down thinner the heat transfers into the room quicker.

The laitance as you said is cleaned off the screed about 6 weeks latter using a big floor sander. For such a small area it will work out more expensive than traditional screed.