Soft plaster

Nate111284

hi, I plastered my ceilings straight on to plasterboard, it's the first time I have every plastered.
My problem is that the plastering started off well but because I'm new to this and abit slow the plaster kept going off in the bucket so I kept adding water to make it workable the problem is when I got nearer the end of the room on the second coat i think it was too watery because it's started to flake in parts after a week of doing it. Do I just need to give it longer time than normal to dry? Or is there a way I can put something on top to harden it up like uni bond?

hi, I plastered my ceilings straight on to plasterboard, it's the first time I have every plastered.
My problem is that the plastering started off well but because I'm new to this and abit slow the plaster kept going off in the bucket so I kept adding water to make it workable the problem is when I got nearer the end of the room on the second coat i think it was too watery because it's started to flake in parts after a week of doing it. Do I just need to give it longer time than normal to dry? Or is there a way I can put something on top to harden it up like uni bond?
Sounds like you messed it up, watered the mix down too much so its got no strength....wouldnt be advisable to skim over it as the old coat might give with the extra weight...get a plasterer in to overboard and skim it.

Can you put up some pictures please. So we can help you. It's so much easier for us to help when we see pictures.

Thanks theclemo the forum advisor.

IMG_1257.JPG
IMG_1258.JPG

Please tell us that you mean after week had passed!! Not after a week of doing it!!:sorprendido3: All the other trades you can have a go at i.e. Stop and go back to ,or take your time . You have now realized this is not on that list get someone in and make your money elsewhere to pay them to do the job they know and understand . Amen.