Skimming Artex vs removing or boarding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gordysmith

Hi everyone,

Am new to the forum so firstly hello..!
Can I firstly add that I am not a pro but merely a DIYr.. Did go on a course mind you and have been at this for a few years.. Only ever done my own houses mind you as am no pro!
In the past when encountering old artex I have always just taken time and skimmed over first to fill the peaks and troughs and then bonded again once dry and skimmed to smooth finish. I have an old hallway to do now and the artex is proper thick and wavy. Don't want to pay for expensive artex removal as am sure it is pre 80's.. Is it safe to knock of the prominent heads and then fill gaps or better to just board? The other issue is that the artex that is on at present does seem pretty knackered..

Cheers.

Never disturb any material that may be containing asbestos, pva it twice over a couple of hours, put on a coat of bonding or a mix of finish with bonding,then skim over this when it pulls in, it will add weight so make sure the ceiling can hold it,

Is it safe to knock of the prominent heads and then fill gaps or better to just board? The other issue is that the artex that is on at present does seem pretty knackered..

Cheers.

Like has been said you have to consider that most artex in old houses for instance have a good chance of containing asbestos.To me any asbestos in artex is encapsulated within, so unless you are sanding or drilling into it you are safe enough although nothing is 100% in regards to that.

Its something you have to judge by yourself, but i think you should consider not scraping anything if you can help it.

Take the extra time to fill in the gaps, and give yourself peace of mind.