plaster falling off ceiling?

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Col27

Hi lads, im new here asking for help and saying hello! Ive been plastering on the weekends on the side for 2 1/2 years. I skimmed a ceiling yesterday which had roll on artex crap on it. Took or all high spots and 2 coats of pva as u do. I worked my nutts off getting it nice and flat as it was ducking and diving everywhere. Troweling up the last metre square corner and it started sagging!!!!!! So i stopped for 10mins thinkin boll**ks the artex/polytex has pulled. I cut a little hole out of it to see if it has? Bloody hell if i did the HOLE 15ft x 13ft plaster come off!! The artex/polytex was still on the ceiling??? For the life of me i cant work out why the plaster didnt take to it?! Ive skimmed tonnes of artex ceilings and never had problems? Overboarded today because i couldnt get thr artex/polytex off. Now finished job done. please help me guys

Hi lads, im new here asking for help and saying hello! Ive been plastering on the weekends on the side for 2 1/2 years. I skimmed a ceiling yesterday which had roll on artex crap on it. Took or all high spots and 2 coats of pva as u do. I worked my nutts off getting it nice and flat as it was ducking and diving everywhere. Troweling up the last metre square corner and it started sagging!!!!!! So i stopped for 10mins thinkin boll**ks the artex/polytex has pulled. I cut a little hole out of it to see if it has? Bloody hell if i did the HOLE 15ft x 13ft plaster come off!! The artex/polytex was still on the ceiling??? For the life of me i cant work out why the plaster didnt take to it?! Ive skimmed tonnes of artex ceilings and never had problems? Overboarded today because i couldnt get thr artex/polytex off. Now finished job done. please help me guys

what was the artex painted in? chalk wash may be ,can wash this of with sponge first then pva