Mixing plaster

Members online

realtek

hi,

I know 25kg of multi finish covers about 10sqm.

My wall is 8sqm so given the second coat is thinner how much of a bag to I mix up for the first coat? A bit more than half or 2/3 ?

Cheers!

I was going to do that but it's my first time since I did a course. Will be as quick as I can but thought it was better to mix fresh after the first coat? Didn't want it to end up too stiff. I guess if it was then I could just throw it away and mix up a new load :)

Just be careful when using the same mix and wetting it back.
If it's started to turn and pull stiff in the bucket before you re wet it and mix use fresh as it will just go lumpy and flash set.

Thanks reeves,

Well after a knackering day i cover about 12sqm of the conservatory. I'm pleased with most walls. But unfortunately I did the big wall first 1.8m x 4.2. It turned out ok but was a nightmare to keep up with the drying of the drying times.

Will see when it goes lighter but I can feel a few ridges in it and it's not as good as I hoped or even did on my course.

By the time I got the first coat on the mix started to dry, managed to whack that on but my arm was killing and by the time I finished that and smoothed out some trowel marks, I think I left it a bit too long for the first wet troweling.

Will have a think but may consider re-skimming if not happy and will mix fresh after the first coat next time and from doing the other walls I think I am a bit better at my timings.

Still got a few more bits to plaster too but that's a job for next weekend!

Thanks reeves,

Well after a knackering day i cover about 12sqm of the conservatory. I'm pleased with most walls. But unfortunately I did the big wall first 1.8m x 4.2. It turned out ok but was a nightmare to keep up with the drying of the drying times.

Will see when it goes lighter but I can feel a few ridges in it and it's not as good as I hoped or even did on my course.