Can I use regular 15mm TE plaster board in a kitchen or Bathroom?

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

doomageta

Hi All,

Newbie here. Just got an old house which i am trying to renovate before moving in at as little cost as possible. I have been offered some free sheets plasterboard and was wondering if their use was limited. I know there are vapour resistant and heat resistant (well more than the average 12.5mm ones) boards out there but, was wondering if it would be absolutely crazy for me to use regular 15mm TE boards for my tiny new kitchen and tiny new bathroom?

Any thoughts welcome as i would like to save money but, obviously if it will definitely bring on more problems in the future then i would rather know that as well.
By the way i hate lath and plaster walls. Just had to redo some electrics in this stuff and it was/is a nightmare!!!

Thanks for the help.

Dooma

if you put them up, the bathroom and kitchen will simultaneously combust when you close the front door. be warned

No Problems with using them at all. they are easier to work with and stronger. Be aware though that you can't dot and dab with vapour (foilback) boards. they are for screwfixing only.

Thanks guys that is great...i figured sarcasm was one of Nick's forte... ;)
Anyway, now that i know they are suitable would you advise dot & dab or building up a timber frame and screwing them onto it or screwing/fixing it directly onto the wall. Two major factors:
1- The wall they are to go on is a partition wall made of solid cement block which were very-very-VERY uneven (you know the stuff that crumbles) so i have applied one coat of mortar and rendered for smoother base
2- The kitchen is tiny (2.5m x 2.5m) so loosing the width of the timber on top of the 15mm depth of the board makes me want to cry

I initially planned to render the entire wall but, since i got these boards i figured i should use them.